Date: 12th December 2016 at 8:31pm
Written by:

Well an eventful night for France Football and the Ballon d’Or as it’s back under their full control for 2016 following FIFA’s split.

Earlier tonight as you might remember – Click Here – although they were running late we had got the 17th to 6th place countdown well underway as we headed to the winner, before somebody noticed a tweet or there was a leak or something or other and we went from waiting for number 5 on the list straight to them announcing Real Madrid’s Cristiano Ronaldo as the winner.

Almost an hour on from the strange celebrations and plenty of ‘WTF’s’ as most people wondered what was going on and where the rest of the list was, it appears event organisers realised they still hadn’t finished their work for the night.

So here’s the full list – unless they take another unannounced break and start releasing their shopping lists for the weekend.

In fact I think the BBC reporter covering the event live said it far more succinctly than I could manage.

‘Posted at 20:01
This is making your Sunday League team’s end-of-season awards bash, usually compered by half-cut club secretary, look slicker than the Oscars. Still waiting for four, three and two…’

Remember this began at 4.30pm and it’s now gone 8pm!

1st – Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid/Portugal).
2nd – Lionel Messi (Barcelona/Argentina).
3rd – Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid/France).
4th – Luis Suarez (Barcelona/Uruguay).
5th – Neymar (Barcelona/Brazil).
6th – Gareth Bale (Real Madrid/Wales).
7th – Rihad Mahrez (Leicester City/Algeria).
8th – Jamie Vardy (Leicester City/England).
9th – Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus/Italy) & Pepe (Real Madrid/Portugal).
11th – Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Borussia Dortmund/Gabon).
12th – Rui Patricio (Sporting Lisbon/Portugal).
13th – Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Paris Saint-Germain/Manchester United/Sweden).
14th – Paul Pogba (Juventus/Manchester United/France) & Arturo Vidal (Bayern Munich/Chile). (four points)
16th – Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich/Germany). (three points)
17th – Toni Kroos (Real Madrid/Germany) & Luka Modric (Real Madrid/Croatia) & Dimitri Payet (West Ham/France). (one point)

With vote scores not giving at this stage for everybody on the final list – maybe we should be thankful we got the full list! the players who didn’t receive a single vote are obviously.

Sergio Aguero (Manchester City/Argentina).
Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City/Belgium).
Paulo Dybala (Juventus/Argentina).
Diego Godin (Atletico Madrid/Uruguay).
Gonzalo Higuain (Napoli/Juventus/Argentina).
Andres Iniesta (Barcelona/Spain).
Koke (Atletico Madrid/Spain).
Hugo Lloris (Tottenham Hotspur/France).
Thomas Muller (Bayern Munchen/Germany).
Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munchen/Germany).
Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid/Spain).

Well that was interesting folks – same time, same place but without the boredom for anyone next year?

Four hours to name 19 players…Holy Football Gods! If anything else happens I’m not interested tonight.

Click for the forum