Date: 12th December 2016 at 6:05pm
Written by:

The BBC African Footballer of the Year award was selected tonight and plenty of familiar faces featured.

The five man shortlist for this years competition was announced back in early November and fans had until November 28 to register their vote for their favourite player.

The shortlist was made up of Borussia Dortmund and Gabon international striker Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Manchester City and Ivory Coast midfielder Yaya Toure, West Ham and Ghana striker Andrew Ayew, Leicester City and Algeria winger Riyad Mahrez and finally Liverpool and Senegal winger Sadio Mane.

The afternoon began with the above five contenders, but in no particular order Aubameyang, Toure and Ayew were removed from contention, leaving only Mahrez and Mane.

So down to the final two, at 13 minutes to 6pm tonight, Leicester’s Riyad Mahrez was crowned the winner for 2016 and manager Claudio Ranieri proudly handed him the gong.

Fair play to Liverpool’s Mane for reaching the final two and congratulations to the other three for reaching the final shortlist.

The BBC’s immediate reaction from the PFA Footballer of the Year winner for 2015/16 had him explaining.

‘It means a lot, obviously I`m African, it`s big for an African player and I`m very pleased to win it. It`s always good to receive an award and as an African player it`s a huge honuor.’

Adding on his own thoughts on why he won.

‘Maybe because I won the league and we had a very good season. I think Algerians are proud of me, I`m from Africa and they are very proud of me and I want to thank them and all my family. All the fans, thank you very much, I`m very pleased to receive this.’

Click for the forum