Date: 1st July 2011 at 8:16pm
Written by:

Manchester City will face Barcelona, Celtic and Marseille in Group One of the inaugural NextGen series.

In addition Ajax has today confirmed their participation in the NextGen Series – the new elite international competition for Europe’s finest young football talent. The tournament has been created to provide some of the best youth players in Europe with the platform on which to hone their skills in a highly competitive environment.

Ajax will be joining some of Europe’s most prestigious teams, including Barcelona, Inter Milan and Liverpool. Teams will play home and away, with the top two from the four groups progressing to a knock out phase – this will decide which Club is crowned NextGen Champions, in January 2012.

Commenting on Ajax’s participation in the NextGen Series, the tournament’s creator Mark Warburton said…

‘It is fantastic news that Ajax have signed up to the tournament. They are renowned for having one of the best youth academies in the world, producing the likes of Johan Cruyff, Clarence Seedorf and Dennis Bergkamp.’

The Groups now stand as follows:

Group One
FC Barcelona – Manchester City – Celtic – Marseille

Group Two
Liverpool – Sporting Lisbon – Molde – Wolfsburg

Group Three
FC Basel – Tottenham – P.S.V Eindhoven – Inter Milan

Group Four
Ajax – Rosenborg – Aston Villa – Fenerbahce

All of the group fixtures can be found here while the official site can be found at


Your Comment