Date: 18th April 2018 at 7:32am
Written by:

The Premier League has announced the date of when they will publish next seasons fixtures, as well as setting brand new summer transfer restrictions.

The 2017/18 season has not even finished however, the leagues governing body are busy preparing, well in advance.


Next seasons fixtures will be made public at 9am BST on Thursday, 14 June, while the league campaign will kick off on Saturday, 11 August.

We know Wolverhampton Wanderers FC will definitely be playing in England’s top division, following a seven year break, while Cardiff and Fulham currently battle it out for second place. Other teams in contention, via the play-offs are Aston Villa, Middlesbrough, Millwall and Derby County.

Sides who are at risk of dropping down to the Championship are West Brom, Stoke City, Southampton, Swansea, Crystal Palace, Huddersfield, West Ham and possibly Brighton.

Revised summer transfer date

Earlier this year Premier League clubs voted to end the summer 2018 window on the Thursday before the start of the season –  9 August to be exact, rather than at the end of the month as we’ve become accustomed.

Just think, Deadline Day with Sky Sports presenter Jim White will never be the same.

What does it mean?

The changes mean the window will open for business on Thursday, 17 May, just a few days after this season’s final round of fixtures

Tad confusing?

Take a deep breath – clubs will be able to sell players until around 11pm BST on Friday, 31 August but they won’t be able to bring in new recruits once the window slams shut – 9 August.

Phew, I think that’s it!

Summer schedule

Yesterday, Manchester City announced the following North American tour.

Other pre-season games will be announced closer to the time.