Date: 16th March 2009 at 9:09am
Written by:

The UEFA Cup will be renamed the Europa League from season 2009/2010.


The new-look league will have 48 clubs in 12 groups of four, with the top two in each joining the eight third-placed clubs from the Champions League in a 32-club knock-out stage.

A UEFA spokesperson said…

‘The new format will result in many teams from all over Europe contesting the new UEFA Europa League, with teams from emerging countries or lesser known teams challenging the ‘old’ order of established European clubs.’

UK Broadcasting Rights

Channel Five, ITV 4 and Irish TV pay channel Setanta Sports have each been awarded the 2009-12 UEFA Europa League UK TV rights.

Further details can be found here

Europa League

Precise details can be found by clicking