Date: 19th December 2011 at 4:32pm
Written by:

Pablo Zabaleta’s drive and will to win epitomised City’s spirit in what many learned pundit’s are calling the game of the season so far at the Etihad last night…

The 26 year old Argentina international jack of all trades with 135 City appearances to his name came very close to a rare goal against Arsenal, too. Thundering in a post breaker that would have sealed a remarkable performance whereby the rightback, come midfielder, come leftback intercepted and broke up Arsenal play repeatedly whilst getting forward whenever possible.

A classic Zabaleta performance then!

It’s something to consider that Zaba arrived in Manchester on the same day as Robinho in August 2008 in a £6.5 million transfer from Espanyol. Zaba has been worth his weight in gold.

The consumate professional, his fluency in English and team ethic put the astronomically paid and on strike Carlos Tévez to shame.

Mancio On Zaba:

“Pablo is a very clever player. He knew before the game it would be difficult. I told him if he played very well against Theo Walcott we would probably win the game.”

Zaba On City:

“I have played many games at left-back. It was no problem. I just want to do my best for the team.”

The VMC Man of The Season Format 2011-2012:

This season VMC is running our Man of The Season contest using a Formula One style points system run by PhillyCitizhun Productions replacing the accumulated polls won result used at the end of the previous four seasons to define our Maine Man. This way we are getting greater accuracy over who is regularly putting in a shift for the City cause.

VMC Man of The Match Number 25 Vs Arsenal:

Zabaleta 25 points
Barry 20
Hart 20
Aguero 15
Kompany 12
Nasri 12
K Touré 10
Silva 10
Yaya 10
Balotelli 10
Richards 8

VMC Man Of The Season Leader Board:

David Silva 228 points
James Milner 224
Mario Balotelli 207
Edin D?eko 196
Gareth Barry 173
Sergio Agüero 165
Samir Nasri 156
Yaya Touré 152
Joe Hart 144
Aleksandar Kolarov 109
Gaël Clichy 106
Micah Richards 100
Vincent Kompany 100
Pablo Zabaleta 98
Joleon Lescott 74
Adam Johnson 65
Stefan Savic 42
Nigel de Jong 32
Owen Hargreaves 25
Kolo Touré 25
Costel Pantilimon 20
Abdul Razak 15
Wayne Bridge 12
Denis Suarez 10
Nedum Onuoha 10
Karim Rekik 8

VMC’s Previous Man Of The Season:
Based upon MOTM polls won

2007-2008 Elano Blumer
2008-2009 Stephen Ireland
2009-2010 Carlos Tévez
2010-2011 David Silva

all times East Manchester

We 21 Dec 19:45 Stoke, The Etihad, PL
Mo 26 Dec 15:00 West Brom, The Hawthorns, PL
Su 1 Jan 15:00 Sunderland, Stadium of L, PL
Tu 3 Jan 20:00 Liverpool, The Etihad, PL
Su 8 Jan 13:00 City v Rags, The Etihad, FAC3
We 11 Jan 19:45 Liverpool, The Etihad, LCSF1
Mo 16 Jan 20:00 Wigan, JD Stadium, PL
Su 22 Jan 13:30 Spurs, The Etihad, PL
We 25 Jan 19:45 Liverpool, Anfield, LCSF2


Your Comment